The Journey Home

It started with my decision to attend law school: I wanted to help people.

At that time, I could not predict that I would be helping people save their homes. The economy was good and people were buying, not losing, homes.

Fast forward several years and much law school debt later:  the economy is tanking and I have a family to support. I took a job as an attorney at a firm that specialized in Homeowner’s Association Law. I learned how an HOA can levy dues and unreasonable fines, often thousands of dollars at a time. I saw homeowners struggle to find the funds to pay these fees. And I learned how an HOA can foreclosure on a person’s home, even while that person is current on making their monthly mortgages.

After I left that firm, I joined a foreclosure firm. Not any foreclosure firm, but Colorado’s largest foreclosure firm. At the time, this firm was rumored to be responsible for 75% of the foreclosure filings in the state (Inevitably, this firm is now one of many foreclosure firms in Colorado and the wealth of foreclosure filings is now shared by many).

And I knew I had found my niche.

I was good at what I did but I always did it with the utmost respect. People deserve to be treated with dignity and respect and I learned that this was missing from the industry.

And I also learned what the banks wanted; what the banks looked for. I knew exactly when it was in everyone’s best interest to work out a loan modification. I learned who all the judges were. I travelled all around the state, practicing in almost every single county in Colorado. I recognized the sorrow in judges’ eyes when it came time for them to rule; I felt the same sorrow knowing the law was on the Bank’s side and it meant the person sitting across from me would lose their home.

I had many sleepless nights.

But I knew I would one day take my many accumulated years of knowledge and expertise and start my own firm.

I always knew I would help others, I just didn’t realize how hard my journey to get there would be.

I had to walk a mile in the Bank’s shoes, to start my long journey home.

Keith A. Gantenbein, Jr. is a Colorado foreclosure defense attorney located in Denver and servicing all of Colorado. He also handles bankruptcies, mortgage negotiations, lender liability, real estate, civil litigation, contracts and landlord/tenant. If you think you will be facing foreclosure, or are in the foreclosure process, or have had a wrongful foreclosure, contact Keith Gantenbein at (303) 618-2122 for a one-hour consultation where he will discuss your situation and go over all your options with you.

About theglawfirm1

Gantenbein Law Firm is a Denver, Colorado Tax Law Firm, servicing all of Colorado. Gantenbein Law Firm also specializes in Colorado Real Estate Law, Colorado Foreclosure Defense, Wills & Trusts, and Business Law.
This entry was posted in colorado, foreclosure, foreclosure defense, mortgage, mortgage loans, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Journey Home

  1. jana says:

    Great Law Firm! We like that they used to work the ‘other side’ and know all the INS and OUTS and how the banks work against you!

    All I can say is….if you think you’ll go into foreclosure – call Gantenbein right away. Don’t wait till it’s too late! They’ll help you stay in your home.

Leave a Reply

